Francina Dominguez Wins 2018 AMS Houghton Award for Pioneering Contributions to Hydrometeorology

Photo Francina Dominguez
Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Francina Dominguez Wins 2018 AMS  Houghton Award for Pioneering Contributions to Hydrometeorology

August 2017

A round of applause, please, for HAS colleague and former faculty member, Francina Dominguez, on being selected for the 2018 AMS Henry G. Houghton Award in recognition of her pioneering contributions to terrestrial meteorology and improving our understanding of land-atmosphere interactions. Dominguez was among the founding faculty members of our department's Hydrometeorology program and served as its co-director. In 2015, she returned to her alma mater, the University of Illinois, where she has initiated a similar research group focused on hydrometeorology and land-atmosphere interactions. Dominguez will receive her award in a formal ceremony at the AMS annual meeting in Austin, Texas, in January 2018. Congratulations, Francina! 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Dongxiao Zhang Elected to the US National Academy of Engineering

February 2017

Dongxiao Zhang, former doctoral student of Regents Professor Shlomo Newman, current member of the HAS Advisory Board, and Founding Professor and Dean of Engineering at Peking Universty, has been elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE).  Zhang is one of 84 members recently elected to this prestigious appointment.  

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/ implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on October 8, 2017.  A list of the newly elected members and foreign members with their primary affiliations at the time of election and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishments can be found on the NAE website.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Amber Sullins' Climate Change New Year Resolution

January 2017

Yale Climate Connections recently asked Amber Sullins, HAS Advisory Board Member and Chief Meteorologist for KNXV-TV ABC in Phoenix, to answer a very important question:

What's your New Year's Resolution as it relates to your work or interest in climate change?

Read Amber's response, and those of 12 other influential and nationally respected individuals, at the Yale Climate Change Connections link.

Happy New Year 2017!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Service on Two New NASA Committees

May 2016

Jeffrey Kargel, HAS Senior Associate Research Scientist and Adjunct Professor, was recently selected to serve on two committees for the NASA Advisory Panel, "Roadmaps to Ocean Worlds" (ROW), which is charged with developing mission concepts and exploration goals for the ice-covered ocean worlds of the outer Solar System, of which we know there are several and suspect many more.  The specific committees include one for Enceladus (Saturn's Arizona-sized moon that is actively shooting geysers sourced in an ocean) and one for Kuiper Belt Objects including Pluto.

Kargel noted that, "NASA has recently embarked on development of a massive outer planets exploration goal comparable to that which served Mars exploration for the past 18 years. There will be many, many missions, and this advisory activity is designed to help identify the goals, target objects, and missions...and a far otherwordly extension of hydrology."

Congratulations and good luck, Jeff!